Local News

Local teens help authorities locate missing elderly man
Two local teenagers located a missing elderly man Wednesday evening, May 20.
According to reports, the Hill County Sheriff’s Office was notified at 3:45 p.m. that an elderly male with dementia left his residence on Reagan Road in Tall Timbers near Whitney around noon and never returned.
The sheriff’s office requested additional support at 5:09 p.m. after a ground search, and the Criminal Investigations Unit, Environmental Deputy Jeff Ward and drone pilot Deputy Chris Jackson responded to assist with the search.
The sheriff’s office reported that the man was located at 5:38 p.m. under an unfinished framed structure drenched in sweat and barely responsive.
According to the sheriff’s office, the man was located by two 15-year-old siblings, Melissa Lackey and Daniel Vowell, who joined with others from the community in searching for the man.
“In this day and age, it’s refreshing to know that there are young adults who are caring enough to help out their fellow man,” the sheriff’s office said in a press release.
Whitney Fire Rescue and EMS treated the man, and he was subsequently airlifted to an area medical facility by CareFlite for additional treatment.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s